Ryder Cup-The History

200px-Ryder_Cup_at_the_2008_PGA_Golf_Show_newThe Ryder Cup Matches in all their glory started out as an International match between American Professionals and Great Britain professionals a week or two before the 1921 Open Championship.



It was an inspiration from a worker of a British golf magazine, who wrote to the Professional Golfers Association of America suggesting that a team of 12 American Professionals be chosen to play in the British Open, but before the Open an International match be played at Gleneagles by the American and Great Britain professionals as a prelude to the Open.

The match was played over The Kings Course at Gleneagles with 10 aside and the format would be 5 foursomes played in the morning and 10 singles played in the afternoon, the match was won by the Great Britain team 9-3 with 3 matches halved.

And so the idea of an international match was born, but it wasn’t until 1927 that the international matches were contested as the “Ryder Cup”.

A great enthusiast and sponsor of British Golf named Samuel Ryder decided to donate a trophy to be played for each year,but it worked out that a yearly competition would prove too impractical so the decision was taken to have the trophy played for every two years, and the next Ryder Cup was contested in 1929 at the Moortown  Golf Club in Leeds in West Yorkshire.From that time on a Bi-annual competition was born, played on odd-numbered years until 1939, then due to the outbreak of the second world war the competition wasn’t resumed until 1947 on American soil in Portland Oregon.

The Ryder cup was continually played in odd years up until the 2001 contest which was postponed for a year due to the September 11 attacks in the US  and it was decided to maintain the two-year gap with the next encounter being 2004 and which now has the cup played for on even-numbered years.

Although the Ryder Cup was contested between The US and Great Britain+Ireland it wasn’t until 1973 that the tournament was taken out of England and played in Scotland, then again in 1997 Spain hosted the Ryder Cup, but it wasn’t until 2007 that Ireland hosted the tournament at the K club in 2006 and then in 2010 it was Wales turn at the Celtic Manor Resort.

To date, the US still holds the balance of power winning 25 of the 40 matches played with Great Britain+Ireland/Europe winning 13 with 2 matches being drawn.

Watch this video to see 10 of the greatest Ryder Cup matches contested so far.


Leave a Comment